If You Liked TO KILL A KINGDOM…You’ll Love…

IF YOU LIKED….

To Kill A Kingdom by Alexandra Christo

Princess Lira is siren royalty and the most lethal of them all. With the hearts of seventeen princes in her collection, she is revered across the sea. Until a twist of fate forces her to kill one of her own. To punish her daughter, the Sea Queen transforms Lira into the one thing they loathe most—a human. Robbed of her song, Lira has until the winter solstice to deliver Prince Elian’s heart to the Sea Queen or remain a human forever.

The ocean is the only place Prince Elian calls home, even though he is heir to the most powerful kingdom in the world. Hunting sirens is more than an unsavory hobby—it’s his calling. When he rescues a drowning woman in the ocean, she’s more than what she appears. She promises to help him find the key to destroying all of sirenkind for good—But can he trust her? And just how many deals will Elian have to barter to eliminate mankind’s greatest enemy?

YOU’LL LOVE…

Our Bloody Pearl by DN Bryn

Although Our Bloody Pearl by D.N. Bryn follows the siren and pirate trope, I found this read to be far more satisfying. The world of Our Bloody Pearl if filled with pirates, sirens, a rich world depiction that is a mix of fantasy and steampunk. In this story we have a siren out of water, literally. What I loved most about the book is that in spite of this situation the culture of Perle’s home is not lost on the reader, as we learn about siren pods, the origin of the sirens’ songs, the intimacy of nicknames, and so on. Our Bloody Pearl even includes discussions on gender and sexuality! Oh, and the book has a main character who identifies neither as male or female!

Note: A full review will be posted soon, but until then, this book has earned 5 stars from me!

July Text Divider

OUR BLOODY PEARL

by D.N. BRYN

Genre: Fantasy, Steampunk 

Themes: LGBT+, Disability Rep, Gender & Sexuality, Family

The ocean is uncontrollable and dangerous. But to the sirens who swim the warm island waters, it’s a home more than worth protecting from the humans and their steam-propelled ships. Between their hypnotic voices and the strength of their powerful tails, sirens have little to fear. 

That is, until the ruthless pirate captain, Kian, creates a device to cancel out their songs. 

Perle was the first siren captured, and while all since have either been sold or killed, Kian still keeps them prisoner. Though their song is muted and their tail paralyzed, Perle’s hope for escape rekindles as another pirating vessel seizes Kian’s ship. This new captain seems different, with his brilliant smile and his promises that Kian will never again be Perle’s master. But he’s still a human, and a captor in his own way. The compassion he and his rag-tag human family show can’t be sincere… or can it? 

Soon it becomes clear that Kian will hunt Perle relentlessly, taking down any siren in her path. As the tides turn, Perle must decide whether to run from Kian forever, or ride the forming wave into battle, hoping their newfound human companions will fight with them.

Goodreads

BUY THE BOOK! Amazon Kindle || Amazon || Book Depository 


About the Author

D.N. Bryn

D.N. Bryn began writing short stories in middle school and has yet to stop. They received their bachelors degree in Biochemistry and Cell Biology from UCSD, and enjoy a day job involving respiratory disease research. They bring their love for animals, science, and mythology into all their writing, and are passionate about creating inclusive worlds where a diverse array of characters can go on grand adventures without being hindered by social misconceptions based on their appearance, sexuality, or gender.

July Text Divider

What’s your favourite Fantasy book set on the ocean? Sirens or Mermaids? 

instagram || twitter || goodreads || facebook

If you enjoy my content, please consider donating to help me with medications and with running my blog!

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

or you can choose to use my affiliate link for Book Depository.

13 thoughts on “If You Liked TO KILL A KINGDOM…You’ll Love…

  1. Kat @ Novels & Waffles says:

    Okay, so I have been in a Pirate mood ever since I read To Kill a Kingdom. I just felt like Prince Elian and his crew weren’t….Pirate-y enough, if that makes sense? I am so glad you recommended another book with pirates and sirens! Thanks for the wonderful post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.