Top Ten Tuesday

TOP TEN TUESDAY || Books I Struggled With

Top Ten Tuesday is a  weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Ten Books I Struggled to Get Into But Ended Up Loving or Ten Books That Were A Chore To Get Through or Ten Books I’ve Most Recently Put Down.


I decided to split this into two parts where I first talk about books that were simply a struggle to read but ended up enjoying, and the second are books that I had either DNF-ed or simply didn’t like.

Set of dividers in nature design. Vector illustration.
Source: Freepik

BOOKS I ENDED UP LIKING

David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

Image result for david copperfield charles dickens

It’s a lovely story but Charles had a tendency to really drone on. The author described scenes with soooo much details which makes reading his work a challenge. Charles was paid by the word, so I forgive him. Still, this is a heartwarming story told from the observations of our Davy

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne

Image result for the scarlet letter

I DNF-ed this book two times before finally completing it on the third turn. I think, it had more to do with the way the book was written but hearing many positive reviews about it made me vow to finish it and I’m so glad I did!

The Taming of The Shrew by William Shakespeare

Image result for the taming of the shrew book

My first Shakespeare play which had me looking up what each character meant when they spoke. I was a newbie to the man and his work.

The Water Babies by Charles Kingsley

Image result for the water babies book

I was very young when I picked up an unabridged novel of this. I remember being so confused the first time I read it, then when I did a re-read I thought it was funny. This book is on the list more for the nostalgic feels it gives me. I don’t know if I remember it quite as well though.

Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

Image result for oliver twist book

Oh dear, another Dickens novel! This one I read when I was but a tween so I don’t remember much about it? And yet it had made it on the list. I really liked Dodger, so I may plan on going back to this novel.

Set of dividers in nature design. Vector illustration.
Source: Freepik

The Caster Chronicles by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Image result for BEAUTIFUL CREATURES SERIES

I read the first two books of this series, I think. The book’s plot was okay-ish but I grew really bored of the characters, so I eventually decided not to read the rest of the series.

The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty by Anne Rice

Image result for the claiming of sleeping beauty

This is one of those books that had me wondering how in hell it ever got published. I loathe this book with a passion. Why does it exist? WHYYYYYYYY?

After by Anna Todd

Image result for after anna todd

I read the first part when it just a Wattpad novel and utterly detested it. I don’t know how far it has been changed since it got published, but this book romanticizes abusive relationships.

The Awakening by Lisa M. Lilly

Image result for the awakening lisa m lilly

The book felt like a mess. From the plot, the characters, to the ending – I was crawling. It was when I didn’t want to DNF a book, so instead I forced myself to finish it.

Such A Secret Place by Cortney Pearson

Image result for such a secret place cortney pearson

I had so many thoughts about DNF-ing this book but the plot was too intriguing and I really wanted to know what the end was. I don’t dislike the book but it was a struggle to read through which by the end made me wonder why I even tried.

floral divider

What are some books that you struggled with reading but ended up enjoying?

instagram || goodreads

[Background Header: Inkstruck Studio]

7 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAY || Books I Struggled With

  1. Oh lovely post! I understand your feelings about Beautiful Creatures – I can’t remember if I ever read the last book or not. I loved the beginning of the series, but somehow as it went on, the characters and story failed to captivate me.

    Like

  2. I feel awful because I actually haven’t read any of these books! Well, I did try to read Scarlet Letter, and true to this post, I really struggled to read it as well and I stopped reading it.
    A book I struggled with and ended up enjoying was Atonement. The middle part was just soooooooooo slow and it was so boring! But, the ending really made it for me – it was such a sad and poignant ending and I loved it so much in the end.

    Like

Leave a Reply

