Uncategorized

First Bookish Challenge with #TheReadingQuest + Book List

Template

Hello! I’m excited to post this up because, as you can guess from the title, this is going to be first ever reading challenge! Yay me!

The Quest Board reading challenge is hosted by Aentee from Read At Midnight. I found out about this challenge when I saw that Stephanie of Igniting Pages joined. You can check out her TBR list here.

The Quest Board reminds me of Dungeons and Dragons but in bookworm style. Not that I have ever played D&D before, hence why…this. I had originally thought I’d do this challenge with the Mister, but having been deserted I decided to go Rogue.

Image result for anime gif thief

You get it? Because my character is a Rogue. And I…made a good joke.

Wonderful jokes, aside. The challenge is from August 13th to September 10th, so if you want to join, you still have plenty of time! Below is the bingo card for the challenge which is just adorable, and I love the titles given for the side quests (the challenges in the blue squares).

Reading Quest Board

As a Rogue, the books I’ve chosen for my challenges are:

A banned book: Brave New World by Aldous Huxley. It’s on my list of classic books that I want to finish before the year ends, so I thought it fitting to start with this.

A book cover with a partially obscured face: I had a bit of trouble with this one but ended up going with Origins of Love by Kishwar Desai.

A book with <500 ratings on Goodreads: The Tiger’s Watch by Julia Ember. This is an ARC I received from NetGalley. I urge to please go read the blurb for this book because it sounds mindblowingly amazing.

A book published by a small time press: Marked by Sin by Jasmine Walt. Alternate London. Brahma Corp’s Assassin Guild. I just…this book has been on my TBR for so long, I don’t even know why I haven’t started it yet.

A book with a one word title: Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier. Another from my list of classics to finish this year. By the way, have you checked out my list for the Classics Book Challenge? If you love reading classics, you might chance upon some interesting finds.

The Reading Quest Character Card Creator
created by CW of Read, Think, Ponder

Those are my main books, and since I started Robert Jordan’s The Fire of Heaven – which isn’t counted for this challenge – I guess, I’ll be reading these books together with that. I do hope to finish this challenge before time because I’d like to give a try to the side challenges as well.

Potions (A book concocted by two authors): Illuminae by Amie Kauffman and Jay Kristoff. The hype for this book got to me which ended up with me now owning a Kindle copy of it.

Time Warp (A book set in either the past of the future): The Architect of Song by A.G. Howard. This is a gothic paranormal novel and after reading Candace’s review for the second part of this book on her blog at Literary Dust, I pushed this series up on my TBR list.

Mini Game (Read a graphic novel, novella, or poem collection): Sunblind by Ramona MeiselFor those who enjoy Greek Mythology, this anthology is for youThe book features 70 pieces on Appollo and Icarus. 

Animal Companion (Book referencing an animal in the title): Animal Farm by George Orwell. I’ve read 1984 which is now one of my favorite classics even though it chilled me to the bone.

So there you have it! Hopefully, my TBR list grows smaller by the end of this challenge.

*crickets chirp*

Ah, who am I kidding? When does a bookworm’s TBR every shrink? So wish me luck as I pursue this challenge and if you do decide to join, let me know!

Image result for anime gif winking

Have you read any of the books I listed?

What’s the most fun reading challenge you’ve joined so far?

Follow my adventures on

 Instagram // Goodreads

il_570xN.1180112847_izrp

[Header background from Angie Makes

The character art is created by CW of Read, Think, Ponder. ]

8 thoughts on “First Bookish Challenge with #TheReadingQuest + Book List

  1. That reading challenge looks a lot of fun, good luck with it!
    You’re blog is really making me want to get more into the book community. I think it’s amazing how much fun you seem to be having with this.

    Like

  2. Oh, this looks like so much fun! I think I’m going to have to participate as well, though not keeping score or anything. Hope you can knock some stuff off your TBR this way x

    Like

  3. This reading challenge sounds like so much fun! I haven’t participated in one before either, so I’m interested in hearing about your experience participating once you’re done. Awesome post and awesome tbr! You selected such awesome books to read, and I hope that you enjoy them all. I just stumbled upon your blog, and I’m greatly enjoying its content.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

