Uncategorized

[Belle’s Bookish Tales] Dating Fiction

As bookworms we’ve all been subjected to intense crushes on our literary faves. I bet you already thought of one before this post even started. Perhaps that’s the reason you’re even reading this, to see if your ‘destined’ literary woman has made my list.

Forgive me if I end up offending you but at least you have one less person trying to steal your dream woman.

Just so you know, I’m listening to Harry Styles’ Kiwi while writing this. Clearly the mood had been set. So, without any further ramblings and in no particular order, here’s my list of fictional women I’d like to date.

21f738541b47045739110a164292c87a

Josephine “Jo” March from Little Women 

tumblr_inline_mgomzdqu4y1rvdcvs

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott was the first “classic” book my little mind was introduced to. I had an immediate attraction to Josephine March, who wouldn’t? We were both reckless young girls, who would have rather been boys than wear lipstick. Of course, I wear lipstick now but that’s beside the point. I loved her because Jo March made me feel less awkward about myself. As she grew to accept herself, so did I. It was from her I learned that I didn’t have to give up my wild ways to be a woman. That I could slay a mascara and still raise my voice. The closest I would have come to meeting her was probably if I was born in the 1800s and was Alcott’s neighbor.

“Late at night my mind would come alive with voices and stories and friends as dear to me as any in the real world. I gave myself up to it, longing for transformation.”

Jane Eyre from Jane Eyre

tumblr_n80owjESnJ1qefcdgo1_500

How could I not mention Jane Eyre? Her wits, her quiet strength, and her fierce self respect! Her character was not outwardly reckless or loud but even in her quietness she was just as much a rebel. I loved how she patient she was with people  yet how easily she could silence them with her sharp tongue. She also seems like the kind of person who wouldn’t mind a quiet night in simply reading or painting, in her case. I know I’d be able to count on Jane to help calm my worries and even without a solution, she would find a way.  Brontë had written her to have an iron will when it came to facing the world, and that is a woman I’d love to have by my side.

“I care for myself. The more solitary, the more friendless, the more unsustained I am, the more I will respect myself.”
Luna Lovegood from The Harry Potter series

giphy

We’d probably be the kind of couple to go on a grand adventures looking for mystical creatures, scouring old bookstores to find long forgotten spellbooks, and can you imagine how quirky our house would look like? It would be like living in a Studio Ghibli animation! We’d also be the most fashionable couple you’d lay your eyes on. Probably write a million children’s fantasy books as well.

“I suspect Nargles are behind it.”

Arya Stark from A Song of Ice and Fire

tumblr_np9g8a73Mc1s5m21go3_r1_500

A woman who isn’t afraid to be her worst whiiiiile carrying all that sass.

We all know how much that girl has been put through and how hard she worked through it. We watch struggling with who she is as a Stark and a woman (in comparison to Sansa) to having to abandon her identity. But as Arya she is resourceful, quick witted, cunning, and unconventional. Having faced so much at a young age (what an understatement!), many would have given up. Instead, she breaks tradition and adapts – the girl knows how to survive. What I admire about her is how willing she is to learn any scale no matter how scary it may be. The kind of girl who’d do anything for her family, even to the point of sacrificing herself. She is a different kind of amazing.

“Ah, Arya. You have a wildness in you, child. The ‘wolf blood,’ my father used to call it.”
Nynaeve al’Meara from The Wheel of Time series

Nynaeve_2

At first read, I’m pretty sure a lot of readers might be put off by her short temper and arrogance. Which she is.

So why do I love her?

Because the woman knows how to stand up for herself. She is the total opposite of small town “humble” girls we often see in books.

Perhaps I wouldn’t date the Nynaeve from the first books of the series, but watching her grow comfortable into her vulnerability is made me realize that Nynaeve is so much more than her aggression. This is not to explain away her flaws though. She isn’t the kind of person to be emotionally forward, in my opinion, but eventually she steps out of her comfort zone.

“Might deny she’s in danger. Stubborn, as if I didn’t know already.”

Daenerys Targaryen from  A Song of Ice and Fire

When-She-Refuses-Let-Up-Even-Little-Bit Besides having our own nest of dragons, I love Dany for her merciless moral code. In my opinion, she isn’t a very good administrator but she is one of those people who are both confidently ruthless and still soft hearted. In her own words, Dany started under the control of her brother to becoming a feared conqueror. Just like Arya, she isn’t the type to lie down and wait. She adapts, survives, and fights. There’s so much I could learn from her, besides how to care for dragons and speak Dothraki.

“When my dragons are grown, we will take back what was stolen from me and destroy those who wronged me! We will lay waste to armies and burn cities to the ground!”

Belle from Beauty and the Beast

Emma-as-Belle-emma-watson-40145119-500-200 And of course, Belle. Everyone bookworm is a little bit in love with Belle. She has a strong sense of self, unwilling to give into traditional peer pressure. I know she isn’t considered a “strong female” role model but think about it, she allows herself to be taken captive by a Beast to save her father. Looking at her life, we see her fight away Gaston’s advances, care for her aging father, talk back to the Beast, and finally softening his heart. Just because she is portrayed as kind and gentle doesn’t make her any less of an independent woman. Despite what anyone tells me of Belle, I believe her to be a capable and mature spirit.

“You don’t have time to be timid. You must be bold and daring.”

Thus we come to an end of the list. I know, I know, the list is incomplete. There are so many more books I am yet to read and some characters I didn’t include them just because. I missed the most obvious ones on purpose. If you do want them mentioned, go ahead and leave a comment & we can discuss what the perfect date with them would be like!

21f738541b47045739110a164292c87a

Who’s the number one fictional woman you’d love to go on a date with, and what kind of date would it be? The comments are open to you!

You can connect with me on Instagram // Goodreads // Facebook // Bloglovin’ // Tumblr

or by signing up for my newsletter

If you’d like support my work, you can help through my Patreon

Leave a Reply

